Back-to-school Language Activities, Comprehensible Input

Nail Your First Day of School With This Dynamic WL Activity: It’s Student-Approved!

The first day of school is right around the corner, and I will admit; I am more nervous than usually. I was doggedly tired at the end of last year, and consequently I didn’t lift a finger this summer (only to put delicious food in my belly!). I was too caught up globetrotting, resting, and truly relaxing!  

However, one experience I am looking forward to is the first day of school.  I cherish the first day with my students because the lesson is always student-centered, energetic, and linguistically affirming. It’s a home run every time! In fact, when I implemented my first day ensemble one year, I overheard one student remark that she had learned more Spanish the first day than in her whole middle school experience!

While I am sure she was hyperbolizing, something definitely resonated with her. So, what do I do? Check it out! 

Our first day of school, we have short 45-minute classes. On a typical block schedule day I’d see 3 90-minute classes. However, on the first day, I had all 5 cohorts of students! 

Believe it or not, I don’t even go near the syllabus, or at least for a few days. As students file into the room, I greet them with “hola” and a few students reciprocate. Once they are boarded in their seats, I introduce myself by writing “Me llamo Sra. Quintero” on the board. I then go around and have them repeat after me and then tell me their names. They normally derive a lot of enjoyment from this language-empowering communicative activity, and thus report feeling a sense of success on their first day.  

First Day First Activity 

I pass out an index card and ask them to write their names, the phonetic pronunciation of their names, and pronouns.

For students who are comfortable, I allow them to get out of their seats and greet others with “Hola, me llamo” to as many people as possible. On the back of the index card, I have them write their favorite Chicago sports team, an idea I got from Kia London. 

First Day, Second Activity School tour
This is by far my favorite activity! You can click on this link for the instructions and 3 free follow up activities that will extend the fun! I’ll admit, I got a bit carried away with the follow up activities.

https://tinyurl.com/emzmpacz

I’m glad you asked! Basically, we walk around the school, and I point , pause, and indicate the different places by saying the words in Spanish. For example, we arrive at the bathrooms and I point and say “el baño”. Students then find the word and write the English equivalent (see this resource for a more critical thinking type warm up). This is perfect for my freshman who could use another tour of the facilities; it also is a good segue into definite articles, gendered nouns, if I wanted to go that route as well (I ask students to make observations with the words, and they inevitably see “el baño” and “la oficina” so I mini-lesson on these words).

Once back in the class, students compare answers. We do some choral repetitions. This year, I have pictures that I will use to review the words we learned during the tour (included here in the follow up activities). 

When class is dismissed, I normally tell them Adiós o que tengan un buen día. I teach this expression freshman year, and their upper-level teachers always compliment me for it! 

And it’s a wrap! Believe it or not that takes up 45 minutes! See more options and SOLUTIONS for starting the fire strong!

  1. ¿Quién es el chico nuevo? Learn about greetings, interrogative words, and Guinea Equatorial (Spanish-speaking country in Africa) with this graphic style Ebook resource!
  2. Interview with Ainhoa: Make learning effortless with this activity! Student will acquire tons of incidental vocabulary words throughout the interview, and get reps of some very pivotal verbs in context: Ser, gustar, and tons of cognates! y Follow up activities included!
  3. New resource! ¿Quién soy yo? Scaffolded personal interview questions to allow students to engage in conversation, one question at a time. There are 10 building blocks of learning activities included!
  4. Comic strip about the first day of school. Glossary and questions included!
  5. Dialogue between two students about the first day of school. Perfect for acting out in class!

6. Make the most of those cognates with Cognate Connection! This empowering activity will help students harness their language power!

7. Datos Interesantes Sobre el Español is an informational texts that provides a comprehensible overview of the Spanish language with its connection to Romance and Indigenous languages. Perfect for first week with level 2, leisure reading, or sub plans.

8. El profesor estudioso is a short story told in the first person to give students an opportunity to see first the contextualization of person conjuguations.

9. Rafael Nadal and the verb gustar! This resource is a great addition to a unit or activity. on personality traits, preferences, and/or sports.

10. Afro-Costa Rican Day! This resources provides students with important details about the recognition, celebration, and traditions!

Novels and Resources by A.C. Quintero

                        A.C. Quintero Literary Partners!

Brycehedsrom.com

Command Performance Language Institute

Wayside Publishing

Teacher’s Discovery

The CI Bookshop (Europe)

Teaching Spanish Made Easy (TPT) Catalog

Social Media 

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/a.c.quintero/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/993395751183802/ 

Website: https://acquinterobooks.com/Books & Bundles Novels and resources by A.C. Quintero 

Facebook Group 

https://www.instagram.com/a.c.quintero/

Back to table of contents 

Youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkQzuLSLSM5qi9d8SgfpdsQ

Leave a comment